A4...is it too much?

Need so input/inspiration…
So a little while back I bought an A4 mk2, but sadly I already have to sell it again to raise some funds for a new computer.

Now I am wondering what to do once I have enough funds to rebuy another analog synth.
My 2 ideas are as following:

1. Buy an A4 mk1, because they are dirt cheap have a lot of functionality and could probably fulfill all my synth needs.

2. Buy a minilogue & rebuy a monologue (which I really like), which are even cheaper than an A4 and could probably fulfill most of my synth needs as well.

Now I also have an OT mk2, which means I already have a more than capable sequencer to make use of any synth. This makes me wonder if the A4 might be overkill for me. Then again the A4 does very nice drums and is more flexible than monologue & minilogue, but also it is not as hands on and more menu driven.
Also important to note is that I am fairly new to the OT. And although I don’t have trouble with it there is still a lot to learn, which is of course more of a reason to go the Korg route.

so what do you people think?

OT mk2 + A4 mk1
vs. :smiley:
OT mk2 + minilogue & monologue
?

1 Like

I would take the A4 but if you are someone prefers more immediate knob per function or keyboards the other might be better.

3 Likes

I just bought u-He Diva and Arturia Pigments and have to say … I’m almost healed from hardware GAS. Diva alone is like 1000x better than A4 (at least soundwise). Just my 5 cents … you can get both plugins for kinda 10-20% of the price of a hardware – I know it’s just not as cool.

It really depends on your commitment learning the A4 (since it’s most of the time not the instrument but the player) … I find A4 is pretty difficult to learn / not easy to find sweetspots that gel with the rest of the track. If I was you, I’d start with the Korgs and then look into Diva and Pigments :smiley:

4 Likes