A4/ Microbrute CV Sequencing/Scale help

Hi everyone, big fan first time poster.

I’ve been checking out topics regarding the A4 CV Sequencer but something isn’t right, I figure I should just break down parameters and see what y’all can make from it. DISCLAIMER: I am a cv newbie.

I am using two elektron audio cv split cable kits. I am attempting to control (at least) pitch and gate on a Microbrute using a/b cv out (I’ll figure out C/D once I get the basics down). I have a general idea of Tip/ring, but I’m not sure the difference when it comes to using the splitting kit, or what is better for gate vs volt/octave. I am getting a consistent sound (I got the gate right!) but no pitch. I am hearing minor differences when switching the voltage type to trig, gate, etc.

CV out a-
Gate
Polarity v-trig
Level 5. v

CV B (this is where it becomes a mess)
Pitch V/oct
Note 1 C2 (?)
Voltage 1 0. (also i can only change it by .001, how do I change values quicker?)
Note 2 C0
volt 2 0

I guess im really not understanding:
A. if using tip/ring matters for pitch or gate (or if i am even using the elektron splitter correctly)
B. What “Note 1, Note 2” and the voltage units actually mean when sequencing up a pattern. I want to make sure I have the right settings to do basic pitch.

BONUS QUESTION:
could you use “trig” in place of gate as a volume envelope or will gate just activate the amp on the microbrute. I have a feeling it’s the latter but i swear i hear subtle differences using trig instead of gate.

I know it’s a little sporadic so let me know if I can clarify in any way. I am excited to get it right!

Your pitch CV is messed up. You need to tell the A4 what voltage to send for the intended note. Since the Microbrute (and all Eurorack) is using the 1V/Oct standard, this means you should set Note 1 and Note 2 to 1V and one octave apart.

CV B
Pitch V/Oct :white_check_mark:
Note 1 C0 :arrow_left:
Voltage 1 0. :arrow_left:
Note 2 C1 :arrow_left:
Voltage 2 1. :arrow_left: