Advice on Integrating Octatrack + Monomachine

I’m an Elektron newbie that got an OT 2 weeks ago, and have now added a MnM in light of the recent price drops. I’ve got some of the basics down on each unit after lots of manual reading and messing around with each of them.

My main question is this: With a focus on live performance/jams, how would owners of these two units have them working together?

I currently have the the audio of the MnM feeding inputs A+B on the OT. The OT is to become the main brain and sequencer of my studio and live rig, and has MIDI out to the MIDI in on the MnM. From there, MIDI thru on the MnM goes to a MIDI hub and onwards to other outboards synths. With the OT being more performance oriented than the MnM, I am wondering how to proceed from here to make the OT/MnM combo as friendly as possible for live play as well as composing live sets. Would it be best to sequence the MnM from the OT (and how complicated will this be given how deep the MnM is?) or on it’s own sequencer? Should I be bothering with ‘song mode’ on the MnM, or just worry about learning the Arranger on the OT (i.e… will I have to use both of them)? How will pattern changes and such be handled between the two machines during live play?

I’ve got a decent grasp on what each machine is capable of, on it’s own but I’m struggling with how to set things up best for my needs in terms of combining the two. I’d like to settle on a workflow as I’m getting to the point of wanting to arrange and compose tracks/live sets and I’m unsure of how to proceed. Any help from those experienced with both machines would be a huge help. Cheers!

1 Like

Both of these machines are great but require a lot of time, attention and exploration to understand what they can do and what their strengths are. In both cases they are far too numerous to list and mostly subjective.