Anyone done before even mixing a tune?

when its the creative point at the start its fun but the mixing and refinement of the layout i get so bored i just start another tune. im over 500+ incompleted demos right now beside a few rough soundcoud uploads here and there. any one shares this mentality or have a ways to challnege the boredom from completion the final 20% of a tune

1 Like

I’m no expert, this is just a hobby / fun for me, but I try to mix as I’m going along. Of course it means maybe going back a few times after adding new elements, but let’s put it this way… would you rather proofread and spellcheck a 20 page paper, or hit it paragraph by paragraph / page by page as you go along?

3 Likes

In short, no.
If you find your own work boring, you need to fix that.

Or if you dislike mixing so much, why not try finding someone else to do it? Collaboration?

11 Likes

It all depends on what your purpose is.
If you want to just have fun and create tunes, that’s completely fine. If you want to actually create a complete work, say an album or EP, pick a few tracks that go well together and just put in the work to finish them up. This is part of the creative process in my opinion, but it requires more effort than just puking out demo after demo. So my advice is to just take a little time and reflect about the purpose of why you do music in the first place.

8 Likes

Why not take your best 10 out of those 500+ and create an album? I can’t see how that wouldn’t be a lot of fun and give a lot more satisfaction than just creating more demos that never see the light of day. Time to level up!

15 Likes

I can totally feel you. I don’t like the mixing and arranging part that much. Most fun for me is starting from a clean slate.
However, the more demos I collect the more unsatisfying it becomes to me. Feels like being messy. Collecting unnecessary ballast…