Arpeggiator

On Octatrack mk2
I can play the arpeggiator as long as I hold down a trig key but it won’t when I press the play button. Someone else had the same problem in the forum and got an answer but wasn’t clear on what the answer was. I am new to the octatrack.

your question is light on details, but if you want to have a played back sequence that sounds like you get when you play and hold the notes

then all you need to do is ensure you are setting a play trig of appropriate length (more than 1 step presumably) and that you also assign notes to be arpeggiated to taste …

a bit more context might get you a more helpful reply, but that’s what comes to mind … set the trig length longer !

1 Like

Yeah, I reread the thread and I see that the length needs to be set to 1/1. I was trying to delete the request but I didn’t before I wasted someone’s time. Sorry about that.

The manual is very vague about the length. I assumed the length was set when I set the arp to however many steps. It’s confusing because the length is set up in 2 places. They should have made it a point to highlight that in the manual. It makes no sense that you have to understand the unit before you can understand the manual. You’re supposed to be able to understand the unit because of the manual, not in spite of it.

1 Like

I find the arp SPD description in the manual particularly amusing. They literally made me do algebra to figure out how that value relates to actual speed :laughing: I ended up with the impression that SPD is maybe in clock ticks or something like that. I’m still unsure, but I love that arpeggiator.

I’m cool with the manual, but maybe it’s because I’ve gotten to know the instrument pretty well at this point. It took a little more time than some other instruments, but was worth the journey