Arturia Dist Coldfire

Has anybody given it a try?
Has anybody compared it to Analog Heat?

I dig it. Has lots of options to knarl things up. However I can’t really make any comparisons to my Heat Mk2. I’m not technically or audiotistically gifted enough for that. However, as is the case with lots of VST fx options, it provides a lot more options than the Heat in terms of mangaling and crushing sounds.
I will say that it sounds pretty convincing. The dual destortion engines can allow for some complete annihilation, or subtle warmth. All 11 of the distortion types are characterful enough to not be redundant. The processing options is well thought out, and the crossfade ability is another layer of dry/wet control. Yeah it’s pretty cool. Not sure if I like it more than Ohmicide, but I think that’s just down to me having used Ohmnicide so much that it’s obtained a bit of legendary status.
I will say that I like it more as well as find it to offer much more than Heavylocity’s Fury, although Fury sounds really good itself.

Alright after I posted the above I went and messed around with the two. The Heat just has that certain thing. I guess you can call it presence or character. While the Coldfire isn’t a slouch, it sounds a bit more “clean”. With the Heat you notice a bit more color and earthly tones. Ah shit, now it sounds like I’m compairing wines.

8 Likes

It made me buy the whole FX collection 3 for a really good price. But I have used their Culture Vulture emulation more. That plugin is truly amazing and I will compare it to my Heat.

1 Like

I did as Arturia sent it to me in advance ! It’s very fun and powerfull and sound very good, it’s a bit CPU hungry tho.
Here is a video I did about it:

1 Like

Is cold fire even in FX Collection 3? I’m not seeing it

1 Like

It was a launch sale where you could buy Dist Coldfire + FX Collection 3.

1 Like

Dist Coldfire seems good to me, it’s as deep as a distortion plug-in can get.