Beginner Question

Hi Guys, I am on the verge of buying my first machine and being a complete novice to musical production, I have just a couple of questions I hope somebody could answer please.

Am I better to start off with Justin’s machine and learn it inside out and really work all of its parameters before I buy another one? Or is it best to buy two or three at the same time as I don’t really know if just one machine could produce one piece of music?

Also as I love artists like I:Cube, Biosphere and Morgan Geist (specifically Ambient/Dub/Intelligent Techno), I was wondering which electron machines would be useful for this genre i.e. Those which produce very ambient/melodic sounds?

Cheers for any feedback

DO you have experience in sound synthesis (maybe some experience in VST, DAW is yours and good level)

Do you have experience in MIXING ?

Is your setup will be oriented to Studio, Live, Both ?

On a DAW do you synthesis your sounds INSTRUMENTS AND DRUMS ? or do you go more on sample tweaking because maybe you feel better with sample, loop, recorded material ?

Hi pal, I have no experience whatsoever, but really just want to use hardware and no computer based DAW.

OK so i would say
Start with Analog RYTM because you can made a whole track with it and you can start to deal with Sound Synthesis, Layering Sound Design and Sample capabilities, Beat making, Rhythm, Groove, … (But anyway you need a computer to update, send sample, prepare sample so … you know it’s USB)

THEN when you understand the Elektron structure, i would go for Analog Four and put a foot in the gigantic area of Sound Synthesis

and THEN Octatrack…

For Elektron the beast is something to understand so maybe if you are a beginner i’m not sure to advise you to BUY the Dark Trinity at once because Structures are similar but not exactly the same. You have Mixing, Sound Synthesis to learn and that’s something. You have MIDI and AUDIO to understand, EFFECTS so there’s a lot to cover.