Can Anyone start a Record Label?

Why stop at just your own stuff. Why not just host a site and ask any artist interested in joining to join up. Im not a Graphics Designer but just how easy is this?

https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-b-d&q=how+to+start+a+record+label

Seems there are a lot of ways to do it. I don’t know the music business at all, but I can’t imagine there are a lot of people making a ton of money that way at present…

it’s slightly more expensive to get digital distribution/a Bandcamp account for multiple artists.

You’d probably need to write some kind of paper napkin contract with the artists.

it’s a bit more hassle to administrate than just releasing your own stuff…

That’s about all the obstacles I can really think of.

Also, running a label is clearly a social good, so you will probably get a nicer sunlounger in heaven.

I SAY GO DO IT*.

*but not, as mentioned above with the expectation of making any money (although you might!)

1 Like

Can you? Sure.
Should you? Depends.

Big q is, what exactly would you be offering artists that they can’t get either by themselves or elsewhere.

5 Likes

these days, with availability of such platforms as Bandcamp, starting your own label is totally unnecessary in most cases — because such platforms made releasing your music without transferring any rights on it really easy.

3 Likes

Adding to that, it’s also real easy for indie radio stations etc to search for brand new relevant content via the tag system without even having to bother about marketing and whatnot.

2 Likes

For me, it seems worth doing if you’re willing to pay more attention to the admin, community and marketing than the music, or have time to do all of it.

If it’s just a label to associate with some artists, it might not be worth it.

If you want to get into “building community” - cross-pollenating the artists, forming supergroups, remix swaps, events - then it’s a better option.