Complex re-orderable routings w/hardware FX using loop switchers

For those who might be interested in the ability to do complex re-orderable routings w/hardware FX, similar to what is possible with the new Analog Heat + FX, here are a couple of pieces of gear I had been researching.

Most loop switchers are aimed at guitarists, and hence usually mono only. The ones below are stereo capable and seem very powerful. I’ve got no experience with either one but am on the waitlist for the ML10x:

These allow you not only to run FX in serial but in parallel as well, so in a sense more powerful than the AH+FX and of course capable of using whatever FX you want.

Anybody have any experience with these particular loop switchers or others with similar capability?

1 Like

I have indeed considered the Erica Matrix Mixer. It has a nice hands-on appeal and I enjoy it on the Syntrx.

However I decided against it for my application because I didn’t want to deal with the spaghetti-like complexity of lots of 1/4" to 3.5mm cables for the ins and outs (all my FX units are 1/4") and I’m interested in the additional “playability” via MIDI pedals that some of the loop switchers allow. For example, you can drop one or more FX out on the fly like on the AH+FX.

The two loop switchers above also allow you to have delay trails / spillover when switching loops/presets.

Did you say EXPENSIVE?

https://www.soundsculpture.com/products

1 Like

Yep, I had come across the Sound Sculptures units in my research too. But it was a bridge too far in terms of cost! Even the G3 is too rich for my taste and intended application, but it was the first one that I ran across that checked all my boxes.

1 Like

It’s definitely from “ye olden times” … OS upgrades mean putting in a new chip

But it has a nice Java app to edit routings and responds to MIDI program changes of course.

Another “old” option is the CMLabs SixtyFour

Here’s one for an ok price:

1 Like