Different Songs Within One Project - How to?

Octatrack noob here. I’m coming from having a digitakt where you can have a completely different set of samples per pattern. When I sample some stuff on the octatrack and make a pattern, everything works great until I want to go to a new pattern within the same project and sample some new stuff. I record a sample on r1 flex machine in the new pattern, but when I go back to my old pattern, the samples have been replaced with the samples of the new pattern. I guess what I’m asking is how to record samples to the sound pool as opposed to a single track. Right now it seems like if I record a sample to a track, thats the only sample I can assign to the track for an entire project.

2 Likes

BANKS! Each bank has 16 patterns, so i consider each bank to be a song. Each bank also has it’s own SRC settings. If you didnt want to use multiple banks and want everything on same bank, this is where parts come in. Parts are like ‘kits’, every parameter of every track, 16 scenes and each sample assignment can be completely different per part. Another way is to sample lock, hold down a trig in record mode, then use the Level knob to browse samples in your pool to assign to that step. Each step can have a different sample from your pool playing (flex and static only). Hope this helps!

5 Likes

So what is your procedure when recording a sample? Right now I’m recording it to a track and it shows up in r1 on the list. I tried recording new samples on a new bank but it still took the place of the sample in the original bank

1 Like

You are overwriting the record buffer(s) if you not save the recorded stream first.

Save the recorded samples and record over the record buffer(s). Repeat.

2 Likes

Or you could just max out a record buffer and slice the sample. Again save the sample and repeat.

1 Like