Digitakt/Digitone Program Changes (DN is late again)

So I have my Digtakt as the master and sending off program changes to the DN. I’m aware of the long standing ‘1 Bar late’ midi sync issue but I really thought I had over come it :frowning:

Can someone tell me why yesterday, even with each machine sometimes playing different pattern speeds and lengths, would always execute program changes right on time and in sync…

…and today the DN is late by either a bar, a note, 2 notes, etc.

It feels like something caused this sync disruption but I’m racking my brain to figure it out. All the same settings as yesterday or so I think. I generally keep CH LEN on 8 or 16 and M LEN on INF.

2 Likes

Is DN set to receive program change? There’s technically 2 program change input options for Elektron boxes.

MIDI CONFIG>SYNC>PROG CH RECEIVE is def on and the program changes are happening…sometimes in sync but almost always either a note or a bar bar behind.

what’s the 2nd option btw?

I think it would be sending program change messages to the autochannel, which would result in the type of off-sync program changes you’re getting (in the case that the DN’s pattern is longer than the DT’s).

If your prog ch in channel (channels menu) on the DN is the same as prog ch out (same) on the DT, it sounds like you’re doing everything right so I’m not sure.

Ah thanks for the idea…I tried disabling other program changes that Im sending via a different channel, but no luck with that!

Oh you know what, don’t send program change messages to the DN at all. Turn off any program changes you’re sending to the DN from the DT midi tracks.

What the pgm chg receive option does is sync the program change of the DT to the program change of the DN. It does it automatically, you don’t need to manually send a program change message.

Nah, i was sending pgrm change messages from the DT to another device.

Okay, just checking:

• pgm ch receive is on DN (as you said), pgm change send is on DT