Digitakt / Digitone Recording Quality

Hey guys, I’m kind of new to the Elektron universe and on Elektronauts as well.
I recorded yesterday one of my last techno / lofi jams with my DT and my DN via OB and it worked well (main output with reverb/delay etc.).
When I was listening to it during the jam it sounds fine, but after the recording I do have the feeling the result sounds kind of dull… Any recommendations for me?
I was specially wondering cause I know a few jams on YT where the people didn’t master anything and it sounds on YT still better than my recording…

Sometimes I use the Digitakt as my Interface or my Behringer FCA 1616.
I recorded it on my Mac Book Pro and on my PC as well.
Maybe its something with the Bitrate?
Which Bitrate do you guys use when recording stuff?

Thanks for your help!

Can only speak for myself but my recordings are mainly 24bit-48khz. Occasionally 96KHz depending on the type of music and intention to process with VST fx more.
Dunno how the behringer converters are. I barely notice any difference in sound recording 2 channel master out from DT/DN thru my audio interface or straight thru overbridge or DT/DN as audio interface

1 Like

what do you mean by dull? quieter, or muffled etc?

EDIT: are the results the same regardless of whether youre recording the stereo output via OB or the Behringer?

I don’t mean quieter it’s more like muffled…

and the results are the same whether youre recording via OB or audio interface?

Welcome to the forum!

How are you listening to the jam? Through one device, on headphones/monitors, a mixer? The reason I ask is that maybe you are summing the audio from both devices through one of them when jamming, but separating things into two audio files while recording, thus losing the internal summing, maybe? Also, are you listening back at the same volume in the same way? Louder signals are more exciting to our ears.