Digitakt + Synthesiser

Hello, I own a DT (with a view to swapping out for OT MKI in the next year) and am looking to pair it with a multi timbral synthesiser to minimise the amount of machines I need for live performances. I have a Behringer CRAVE with a behringer distortion/overdrive pedal for basslines. I also like to make breakbeat/jungle/breakcore/IDM. The options I am looking at are, of course; the Digitone, Blofeld and the Korg Wavestate. Anybody have any experience with using the Digitakt to midi sequence these? Any opinions welcome but bear in mind I am a student so I can’t purchase anything more expensive than these synthesisers.

Much appreciated

The Blofeld is a nice multitimbral synth. I don’t own one anymore but I’d definitely recommend it. Sounds great.

Cheers for the reply, were there any bugs or difficulty with MIDI configuration/messages. I know this synth is relatively old compared to the others mentioned so I’m currently trying to gauge if it’ll be difficult to work with

You might also consider Micromonsta 2 which is bitimbral.

It’s quite a mature firmware so not too many bugs at this point.

It does still have an issue they never fixed where the delay won’t sync to tempo, so you have to manually set it in milliseconds. Other than this it’s pretty solid.

Access Virus TI Snow would be a good option, but they are quite expensive these days.

I use a Novation Nova (Desktop) synth, with my Digitakt. It has 6 parts, 16 Voices and each part has its own Chorus/Delay/Reverb effects which is quite nice. The synth engine is a bit basic but you can do a lot with it. You can get one around 400€ sometimes but you need to check if its encoders work properly because they can be faulty.

In terms of new multitimbral synths, Fred’s Lab Töörö is an interesting one. It only has 6 voices though and 4 parts but its 12bit oscillators and analog low pass filters are real nice.