Digitone Sound Levels

Hi, all.

I’m new to Digitone, but a long time eurorack noodler. I just purchased one and noticed some odd behavior that could be the result of operator error.

About half of the presets work just fine. Volume is rich and can be easily adjusted with the rotary volume control.

About a quarter of the presets produce no sound or almost no sound regardless of the volume control.

The remaining quarter produce a slight sound but when I attempt to turn the volume all the way up, it cuts out almost like a faulty or dirty potentiometer would… like there is a dead spot when near fully clockwise that continues dead until fully clockwise.

I admit to being new to this device, so it could be operator error. I opened a ticket with Elektron, too, but thought perhaps one of you might have some advice.

1 Like

This is interesting. It doesn’t sound like anything I have come across. You could try running test mode. This can show hardware issues. I can’t recall how off the top of my head, but if you search the manual for “Test Mode” it should be in there.

Also maybe try a factory reset. You should back things up if you have made any patterns, but since it is new, you may not have to worry about that.

Either way, it is a good idea that you opened a ticket, they should get you sorted out.

1 Like

Thank you for the suggestions. I’ve done the following:

did a factory reset
upgraded to OS 1.30
ran in “test mode” - 0 errors

Still having the same problem. Some sounds work fine. Others are silent. Other work a bit but go silent when the volume is turned all the way up.

My gut says this will end up being something I am doing wrong.

Thank you for pitching in with the advice!

Sounds like you’re using a pair of headphones with a TRRS connector (e.g headset w/ mic), which will cancel out any sound that is in mono - most likely the sounds you can hear fine have some stereo effects applied.

1 Like