External Multi Effects Units for Digitakt

I was wondering if by any chance there is a multi effects box that via some midi wizardry would allow me to have fx PER TRACK when connected to the DT.

1 Like

The DT is only stereo out. You’d have to use overbridge to put different effects on individual tracks. Which makes the answer to your question: a DAW.

6 Likes

I am trying to go DAWless, hence the question. Overbridge was always dodgy for me. Im tired of sync problems when working with different machines. I want something more direct, failure proof and tight. I want to route each track out to a mixer without having to buy an Octatrack or something. Yeah, I am a noob. Help me.

1 Like

I am trying to help you. You cannot route tracks out individually from the box itself. There’s only two physical outputs.

If you want more than that, you have to bring along a computer or tablet.

7 Likes

One thing you can do if you are okay with mono sends is use one channel as an uneffected channel, and use the other one into effects. Then you can use the pan feature like a send into the effects. With the new external mixing abilities on digitakt this shouldn’t be too hard to do with just a pedal and a digitakt. You won’t get fx per track but you do kind of get fx send amount per track like with the internal effects.

EDIT there is also an ongoing community project to make a device that acts like overbridge and gives you separate outputs per channel, but I think that is still a little ways off from being available.

5 Likes

I was looking for that thread to link here. I haven’t tried in awhile, but core audio used to allow all channels to route without overbridge (before overbridge officially launched). I’d have to try to see if it still does it. A usb device with 10 outs would be a killer DT companion.

Got it. Thanks mate. Elektron acting up with bill gates tryna make us daw slaves