Few pre-order questions

Hi folks,

I have never used Elektron products before. And I want my first gear be OT MK2. But I just wanted to make sure for a few things.

First of all, does OT MK2 come with adapter that is suitable for both 110v (US) and 220v (EU)?

The input for my speakers are RCA. And on the specification for OT MK2, it says balanced outputs. Where I can find RCA->TRS cables? Because all I can find is RCA->TS, which makes sense because one RCA has two channels (signal and ground I guess). I am quite concerned about this because I read on reddit that you can damage OT if you use unbalanced cables for balanced output.

And is 80ohm headphone a good choice for OT MK2? What would be best impedance value for headphone to use with OT?

Thank you in advance.

Welcome btw. You won’t damage it the way you want to use it (use TS). The PSU is universal.

1 Like

yes

1 Like

There’s no such thing as a balanced RCA cable btw

That’s definitely wrong. Why should taking a single channel output (unbalanced) from a dual channel output (balanced) do any damage? When this would be the case the world would be full of damaged machines …

I also read on reddit that the earth is flat and was created a few thousand years ago :wink:

hi sammy

using jack to RCA is fine

you do not need balanced cables

any set of headphones will do just fine (earbuds etc from iphone won’t give great sound though lol) , do not worry so much about such things as OHM rating BUT it’s always good to ask

1 Like

Haha… I read it here too https://www.gearslutz.com/board/low-end-theory/458504-can-i-use-ts-cable-between-balanced-output-input.html not sure though if they too posted earth is flat :slight_smile: So, from the link, it seems there was some science behind this worrying, but it seems it is not necessary. As you said otherwise the world would be full of damaged machines. :slight_smile: So no need to worry :wink: