First post - first piece of Elektron gear (Octatrack question)

So, after researching and saving for the last several months, I finally ordered (out of stock) my Octatrack. I am quite excited and thanks to forums like this for existing. I hope my question isn’t irritating or a rehash of other threads, but I did do some searching before posting this.

Here is what I envision using the Octatrack for in my first phase of learning it. I have been a bedroom producer for the last 6-7 years and have worked with Reason, Ableton, Cubase as well as some hardware from Novation (MiniNova and Bass Station II).

This is completely not maximizing the beast that is the OT, but, for starters, I want to be able to take my finished works (wav files) and use the OTto play them live. This can be accomplished in other ways obviously using a laptop, but I want to be able to tweak/mangle on the fly instead of just hitting play or using Ableton.

If you import a large completed song, how much can you really “effect” it vs. chopping up the 4-5 minute song into smaller slices? I understand the static vs. flex machine logic, but for ease of learning curve at the beginning, what exactly is the OT capable of in my outlined context? Sorry again for the basic question. I’ve seen topics on backing tracks and DJ style crossfading, but I’m thinking more towards representing my completed works live but with the ability to mangle them. Hoping to minimize user errors since I’ve never played electronic compositions live. Thanks in advance!

If you are uploading full songs to 1 track, arent you still just pushing play?