First SampleSet for MachineDrum SFS-1UW

Hello
I am an elektron noobie, just picked up a MachineDrum SFS-1-UW+ and i am using it to clock Ableton Live via a UNO Midi 1x1 and ExpertSleepers ES-40/EsX8GT+ESX8CV and it’s working pretty dreamy so i am interested in creating my first unique sampleset of drum samples sounds and i am wondering if there is a simple how-to online for beginners to get the procedure the first time? i am assuming i will need to make use of the midi turbo device and samples? I am just cracking the manual for parameters, global functions but i am yet to find the creating your own kit section.

Since i am new I will share my name is Patrick, i am a sound designer but this is my first “real” hardware drum machine. I am an experienced Max/pd/SuperCollider/Csound programmer interested now in hybrid media design linking programming peripherals and modular synthesis for live performance

I hope everyone is well and i look forward to sharing and learning with this forum.

Thanks

Patrick

Hi, I suggest getting to know the internal machines (not samples) first. There is alot you can do with them. Forget that one is named snare drum or kick drum, you can turn them into almost anything.

I’m not aware of any ‘simple’ online tutorial. I’m still fairly new to the MDUW myself though and don’t know all of the current resources.

Basically - You get one sample bank per snapshot. You load the samples into the sample bank. There’s not much room in there (2.5mb) but it’s enough to make one or more kits, especially when combined with synthesized sounds.

Your kit(s) then use ROM machines which reference the samples in the sample bank.

Sample bank management is all done in the ‘Global’ menu. A good chunk of the manual talks about how to manage sample banks. My best advice would be to just work through it.

You don’t need the TM-1 turbo midi interface, it just makes transferring samples much faster.