General Synth Maintenance Thread

The crown jewel of my synth collection is a Poly Evolver. I drove 12 hours round trip to get one I saw on Craigslist. It’s my favourite synth and it’s in great shape with the new knobs and everything.

What maintenance is required for a synth like this? It’s not ancient or anything, but I feel worried sometimes wondering if a day will come where it’s not operational anymore.

It just sits on my desk, covered up with a cover. Sometimes I’ll go stretches of time without turning it on. Is there any kind of general maintaining that needs to happen with synths of a certain age? Am I screwed if something ever goes bad? It seems like some gear is much more easily serviced than others. I know sequential is known for fantastic service…

I’m still relatively new in this world and as passionate as I am, I’ve only been in this hobby for like 7 years. I don’t have long term experience with gear. Would appreciate any general tips!

1 Like

Firstly that is one hell of a good synth you have there so I understand your concerns!

I have the Poly Evolver Rack hooked up to my Mono Evolver Keys both of which have not let me down and I must have bought them 15 years ago now with some prolonged periods of non use. I dont cover them when not in use but I definitely think that is a good idea for your Poly as it will keep the circuit boards a little cleaner over the years i imagine.

If something does go wrong I think you could still reach out to Sequential for advice and it’s unlikely there would be nothing that could be done. @Scot_Solida will have a better knowledge of maintaining older synths so he might be able to chip in.

I would just get on and enjoy this amazing synth without worrying too much!

1 Like

I wouldn’t worry too much.

Sequential are a thriving business and should be able to help with most issues that may arise. Failing that, there’s always someone who can fix a synth out there.