Help an absolute novice decide on first hardware

Hello everyone, I’m sure you get these threads daily so hopefully this one isn’t too annoying. I’m looking to get into music production, I have a few years of experience playing stringed instruments but I consider myself a novice, with much to learn. Keeping that in mind; I’ve been trying to not go overboard on my first bit of hardware. Things I wanted to focus on were hip hop, beats, sampling, and some experimental stuff. I would love to get into other genres in the future once I’ve learned more.

Originally I was considering the M:S, price point seemed nice but after reading a bunch of threads I became fearful I’d outgrow it quickly and wish I got a Digitakt. The DT is very enticing, price is steep but I’ve heard great things about it and it could keep me engaged for years. I know many would recommend a DAW but frankly, I’m not interested. I’m at a desk most of the day, so I would prefer to keep myself away from it as much as possible.

So what do all of you suggest? Is the DT worth it for someone like myself? Or would you suggest something else? I was also considering a Deluge, which seems amazing but complicated, and the OP-Z, seems very fun and inspiring but build quality is sketchy. If anyone has experience with those two, I’d appreciate your insight!

3 Likes

Get a used M:S. If you “outgrow” it, get a used DT and sell the M:S.

OP-Z is a bit gimmicky. Deluge is a nice jack of all trades device, but this is Elektronauts, so stick to Elektron!

GL

6 Likes

If you’re worried about outgrowing something too quickly I’d consider an Mpc One.

There’s currently nothing as feature packed, at this price point. Although which features you might find more to your liking is for consideration, but It’s as capable as a Digitak, but the methods of doing things are very different.

3 Likes

That’s where I was leaning, I think it’s easy to fall into “future proofing”. M:S looks fun, and I could always get a DT later.