Help deciding wether to return Motu M6 to exchange for Ultralite Mk5 (Solved)

I’ve never had an audio interface, and had only started recording to Ableton via Heat as audio interface, so I’m very new to how to integrate an audio interface in a setup.

I just got a Motu M6 in from Thomann today, and thought it would be perfect for my needs. 6i4o is enough for me. Specifically what my use case is:

• Sometimes using it to record into my DAW (2 inputs for Mackie main out, 2 inputs for Mackie Alt34 outputs, and sometimes 2 more inputs for Syntakt separately).
  • More often, I want to use the Audio Interface without having my computer on. So I believe it’s called “direct monitoring” that is most important for me.

I thought the Motu M6 would be perfect for me, it even has dedicated buttons for engaging Direct Monitoring. But unless I’m mistaking, I just found out that there’s no way to pan the channels hard left and right, so it sums all stereo channels to mono. That’s true, right? Anyone know if I’m mistaken?

Otherwise I think I will in the end return it for the more expensive Ultralite Mk5. I thought it was overkill for me, but perhaps that’s what I need. Before I make another mistake by misinterpreting things:

1. The Ultralite Mk5 is supposed to work without DAW ánd with different routings that you can setup right? So I could make a routing/program for Hardware use, and another for when I want to turn my DAW on? (I could make a patch/routing where I pan L&R inputs from stereo sources?)
  2. Is it easy to switch between the two, for when I run my DAW or don’t? Anyone has it and switches between different routings occasionally?

Thanks for your input - I’ve long put off getting an audio interface because of not understanding this stuff, but hope that I’m close to having it sorted now.

Thanks, LTMD

1 Like