Help for first setup

Hello.

With an history of buying exactly the wrong gear I have a question for a future setup.

I am a beginner when it comes to gear. I’ve been looking to start a DAWless setup. After wanting and Akai MPC for a year now, I switched to the Digitakt (after hours and hous of video’s and reviews on both devices).

So I am planning to buy my first DT soon. I know I want to expand it in the future with some hardware synths. What do I need to realize that.

If I understand correctly I need the Digitakt and a Synth (say I begin with a Behringer Crave). But Sinaloa do need a mixer right? The DT only sends MIDI to the Crave, but does not route back audio right?

So both the DT and the crave need to be connected to a mixer that is connected to either speakers or headphones.

Or am I missing something?

Thanks very much and sorry for this simple question. I just want to do it right this time.

3 Likes

The DT has ext in, so you would be able to route the audio from a synth like the crave back into the DT and through its effects if desired :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I am getting more and more excited by the DT

You’ll get hours of fun with just a DT to be honest. But yes, you could route a synth into DT and the DT to speakers/headphone - so no need for a mixer. Yet.

2 Likes

You need a mixer with a second synth right?

Depends. You could buy a Digitakt, a Digitone and One other synth, and still get it working. A mixer will just make it easier to get everything’s levels how you want in the mix. And mixers help if your adding external FX etc. But honestly, get the DT and go from there. Search for single cycle wave forms on a digitakt to see what I mean.

They’ll be better info out there, this was just the first I found

3 Likes

Here let me tell you the advice everyone should and likely does tell and that nearly everyone ignores:

JUST START WITH ONE.