Help with signal path - DT/DN > Patchulator

Hi!

First time poster, lurked around for a while. So I’m pretty new to Elektron gear - I bought a Digitakt a month ago after eyeing it up for about a year, absolutely love it but planning to build a setup with that and the Digitone. I want to incorporate pedals into my setup but not in a straight signal path so I can choose which pedals I have for each device I want. After diving into these forums, I saw someone suggest the Boredbrain Patchulator 8000 for this which seems perfect for what I want. I just wondered if I could get some advice on a couple of things;

• I’ve attached a diagram (apologies for it being rough, certainly not a graphic designer!) - does this seem right for the signal path that I want?

• Does anyone have any recommendations for a mixer to send the audio path out to?

Thank you very much in advance for any advice you may have :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Although a nice idea you’re essentially monophying your Digitone and Digitakt since the patchulator is mono in mono out.

Have you considered getting a mixer with send / returns? That way you can quickly send the output of any instrument to a pedal and back into the mixer. Much easier, quicker and gives more flexibility. And you can keep your DT and DN stereo :wink:

3 Likes

I agree with @DaveMech, personally have a thing for mixers that also act as sound cards, it simplifies the setup IMO.

A patchbay is a good option if you frequently need to repatch your gear.

2 Likes

I haden’t considered that but that does make a lot more sense than the patchulator idea! Thank you :slight_smile: is there any particular mixer you recommend? I’m assuming that I’d need one with stereo inputs with an aux send/return, but I am pretty new to this side (guitarist mainly) so could well be wrong. Cheers!

1 Like