Help with sound level or noise hiss from the digitone when going via the Digitakt

Hello,

I’ve been using the Digitone on it’s own for a couple of weeks to learn and it sounds amazing via my headphones. I’ve now put it back with my Digitakt and have moved the headphones to the Digitakt so I can use the compressor which I don’t fully understand.

Anyway the issue I have is I get that volume noise when listening via the Digitakt from the Digitone, it’s that noise as if you have the volume up way too loud, almost a hiss.

If I have these 2 devices on their on with my headphones they are fine. It the setup below if I put the headphones into the Digitone it’s phone (can’t hear the Digitakt then though).

It’s something the Digitakt is doing I think?

What’s the external input mixer page say on the DT?

I’d turn the compressor off for now to make troubleshooting easier.

Sorry I’m new to the compressor and Elektron world, how do I do that?

Ok. But the main thing you need to look at is the mixers 3rd page

You must have gone to this page to make the inputs work. What’s your setting here? Are they on full (think the value is 127)

Yeah this is what I have:

Try turning the input down to about 27. It looks like it’s currently about 100? From mememory this setting of 100 is mentioned on a YouTube video somewhere but I found that was way off and added gain, and noise! 27-30ish seemed about unity gain.

And if your using the compressor, it will accentuate this noise as that’s the nature of what a compressor will do

I see so on the L and R pages for the inputs on the Digitone set these from 100 to about 27?

Yup

Oh wow I think this sorted it, thanks!

I’ve spent ages on this, I’m not sure I would of found this solution without your help.

1 Like

Yeah, took me by surprise too. Seems odd, but at least there’s loads of gain there if you plug something quiet in one day. Good to hear it’s all sorted :slight_smile:

1 Like