How is digitone better than FM4 ipad if I already have DTakt

So I recently got my first elektron devices - Digitone and Digitakt. I LOVE them both. actually very easy to figure out with the help of Cuckoo and a couple other youtubes.

Still on my first week - but I just plugged my ipad into my digitakt midi and am sequencing FM4 and other ios synths with the DTakt and routed the ipad audio line out into DigiTakt input - monitor on. works great!

SO my question is - why do i need the digitone? Dont get me wrong, it sounds great. And i get theres a bit more i can do with pLocks but sure seems like 90% of the Digitone functionality can be done with the Digitakt and Ipad.

Am I missing something? Im still new to the DigiTone and havent begun really shaping my own sounds. though I can do that with FM4 too. maybe there are limits i havent found yet.

Im on a budget so always trying to do as much with less as possible.

side note - i use yamaha 5pin din midi bluetooth adapter from the DT to wirelessly transmit to Ipad and it works beautifully. Less cables!

1 Like

In short, no one NEEDS a Digitone. If you find it quicker, easier and cheaper to use FM4 instead, go for it! But to help solidly the decision, spend some time with both options before selling the Digitone. Maybe itā€™ll surprise you later on :slightly_smiling_face:

4 Likes

Can you use the FM4 a drum machine? How about and external audio Processor? Does FM4 have a sequencer? How are you sequencing chords on the Digitakt? Whats the Filter like on the FM4? Does it have effects?

Hell, why even bother with the Digitakt. Sell that too and use the the Sampler in GarageBand for iPad. Boom stereo samples!

ā€¦ not to sound hostile, but maybe learn everything about the Digitone first, and then make an informed decision. No one NEED a Digitone and no one NEEDS a Digitakt.

4 Likes

OKOK a little harsh! ha/ lol
Can you use the FM4 a drum machine? the digitakt is my drum machine