How to record a song? To 'overbridge' or not to...?

Hi guys,

I am fairly new to the Elektron world, but not a complete noob anymore. Anyway… Wondering about how you record your tracks? I am coming from the Ableton world and now I hang in between the hard- and software world. To bridge that, there is overbridge right? I am using RYTM and A4.

Currently I am using still Ableton to use its effects. I successfully split the tracks from the A4 and RYTM via Overbridge from the effects channel, so that I have each track “dry” and then one effects channel for A4 and RYTM each.

The whole idea of overbridge is, to have separate tracks via USB for later tweaking. But if I do that, the effects track will not necessarily match anymore.

So is the general advice to not use the internal Elektron effects in such a setup?

I had a horrible “workflow” putting the effects coming from the Elektrons back to each track in Ableton. No fun. No flow. Just resampling each track per track in Ableton with the effects coming from Elektron (all other tracks were muted for that moment).

Anyway… Hard to describe.

Would you give me some advice how to best record your work into a DAW?
Or do I have to complete leave DAW world and go with an octatrack?

With the transition to hardware gear I hoped for a more intuitive workflow, coming more naturally. But I find myself in a more unintuitive setup now. Effects in Ableton, loading samples from DAW into RYTM (tried to avoid, but the results from the synths in RYTM were not always satisfying and hard to achieve).

Any general advice about how you approach your work?

Drowning… :slight_smile:

Have a good time and thanks!

I think if I would use overbridge the way you describe, recreating fx in ableton, I would start like this to begin with. Pro= lots of control, con= no happy playing with fx on elektron.