Hybrid setup synchronisation

I have been trying to find a good workflow for production on hybrid setup lately. I find myself in a situation where I have a lot of hardware synthesizers and a lot of trouble getting everything synchronized. Playing software tracks in Ableton and successfully recording multiple external instruments in tempo seems very difficult for me to achieve.

I would appreciate it if someone here who had more experience and understanding over this matter could demystify some basic things for me. As a beginner I feel overwhelmed with all this stuff.

At the moment I am using Ableton as the master clock. Ableton is sending clock via USB to E-RM Multiclock and the Multiclock is sending clock to Digitakt, Pulsar, DFAM and a MIDI Thru box that is dividing the clock to a few more devices (RD-9, Oto Machines Bim).

All the hardware is quite well in sync but it seems difficult to get them to start on the right spot when I’m recording them into Ableton. I know that syncing Multiclock with an audio signal is more stable but since I replaced my RME Fireface with the Big Six I didn’t want to sacrifice one mono track for this purpose solely. The Big Six works as a mixer and an audio interface.

I also tried sequencing the Super 6 from Ableton via USB with no success getting it in sync with other gear :frowning: I dream of being able to play a kick from Ableton, send some sequence to my synthesizer and to be able to record other hardware at the same time. I have been watching a lot of tutorials on the YouTube but all this information and mixed techniques gets me frustrated.

How do you guys set things up? Is there a way to do this or should I just record external instruments first and then fix the timing issues on the samples in Ableton? Maybe you know some good tutorial to explain me how to fix everything?

My entire setup consists of:
Macbook Pro running Ableton
SSL Big Six
E-RM Multiclock
Digitakt
DFAM
Pulsar 23
UDO Super 6
RD-9
Nord Drum 2
Norand Mono