I have a neat idea for a hardware device, where should i start?

Woke up with a pretty cool idea for a hardware box (not a synth) that could be really useful for us samplers-users. However i have no experience with programming or building electronics. Should i simply pitch my idea to a company ? Could someone with a little experience in this give me some pointers ? Thaaanks

Not sure if it help, but on a separate thread I was reading that the Digitone early concept was made in MaxForLive, so that’s where I would start from. Might be a learning curve though…

5 Likes

Just PM me all your ideas and I’ll sort you out.

Promise.

7 Likes

PM me.

I will sign non-disclosure and non-compete for your product idea. I’ve developed many hardware / software products in the past ( non music ones ). I’d be happy to give some guidance for free.

Before you make anything real you need to do a lot of work refining your ideas. What is it exactly … in detail.

Decide if this is something you want to develop and sell, or do you just want one for you ? Then decide if this is something you really, really want to do.

Then and only then you can plan for and begin work on a proof of concept prototype, or if the idea is easy enough a full prototype. Break the idea down into separate pieces and see if you can cobble together something from things you can buy and fit together. Usually you can. If not look for open source hardware and/or software that can do something close and adapt that. You never want to start creating everything from scratch.

If you expect your final product to work seamlessly in real-time, a useful thing to discard for a proof of concept, is the real-timeness, and the smoothness of operation. It’s OK for the first one to be rough, and require tinkering to get it to work.

The suggestion for Max For Live is a good one, but it depends what you are trying to do. There are lots of good places to begin, and you need to be aware of these and research other options too.