Learning new instruments as an adult

I recently decided to try and teach myself (with some help from online videos) how to play the baroque recorder, mainly wanted to get some sample material but I’ve discovered that I’m not so opposed to getting good at playing them even if it’s only for the sake of the cats and my own two ears.

I discovered this thread which has a lot of people saying good things:
Has anyone started playing any new instruments lately? - The Lounge - Elektronauts

Started wondering if anyone who has taken up an unfamiliar genre of instrument as an adult or past high school has any advice other than the rote “practice, dedication” type of common sense advice?

I’ve mostly played stringed instruments, therefore any piano I know is self taught and my technique is bad, but it’s good for composition. I have never in my life, however, tried any woodwind or brass - breath instrument - so this is a new experience for me.

5 Likes

I’m constantly buying new instruments without having any idea of how to play them. Even guitar I just started playing over the past few years. Cello, trumpet, sax, clarinet. I’m not good at playing any of ‘em really but I’ve been able to get recordings that I’ve liked from them. Mainly through sampling.

5 Likes

I’m allegedly an adult, and I find it just as easy/difficult to pick up a new instrument as it was when I was a kid.