LFO Filter Freq Generating Its Own Sound?

Hey everyone!

Alright, this might be a total noob scenario…Recently I picked up Saint Stink’s Project File and noticed that there’s a track making sound with no synth machine or sample enabled.

I haven’t been able to completely figure out how this is happening, but I think I’ve isolated it down to the LFO and filter. It looks like the LFO has a square wave and its dest is set to filter frequency. The filter itself has maxed out resonance at the very low end. There are red trigs for the sound it makes when playing the pattern. I’ve also noticed that turning off the synth engine disables the sound, even though the synth machine is disabled.

Am I somehow hearing the filter on its own without a sound source?

I’ve been trying to figure this out all day, questioning my sanity! Does anyone have any idea what might be happening here?

Yeah, filters can resonate on their own when you turn up the resonace and you’ll get something like a sine wave, some filter provide a very clean sine, some not so and with keytracking set to octaves you can even play them with a keyboard. You’d tune the filter by turning the cutoff, if you set it to a C note and have keytracking, you can play the filter like an oscillator.

You can also “ping” filters, that means to send a short pulse into the filter which is almost self-resonating that will excite the filter to ring out. Sine waves are good for fm, because they are so simple, you can modulate it a lot before it turns into noise. Try some fast filter modulation on a self-resonating filter for fm tones.

2 Likes

Alright cool, makes sense. Thanks for the heads up!

I’ve heard of the self resonating concept before, but since this is my piece of hardware, I’ve never been able to mess with it myself.

Would you happen to know how I could test this out with the AR? How do I trigger the filter to self resonate in this case?