List the famous Musicians you have Met in Your Life as a Musician

Ive met a raft of famous musicians one to one(some fleeting some actual in actual conversations).

They include

Miles Davis (Birmingham Ronnie Scotts Club 80’s)
Vangelis (London Cafe early 80’s)
Sir Simon Rattle- conductor of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra(Birmingham on a train back home 90’s).
Lots of Synth groups when they were starting out in small clubs.
Black Sabbath members in Witton Social Club 70’s

Lots more i cant remember but i do have great memories of the conversations i had with them…

They all count. Name some youve met.:slight_smile:

2 Likes

It wasn’t professionally but one time as a student I was drinking in a London hotel bar and the band Blur came in.
Damon albarn looked at me and asked if I was an actor, to which I replied ‘no’.
His response was that I ‘should be.’

I didn’t twig at the time but on reflection I think he may have had me mixed up with a young Ryan Gosling.

The first part of this post is true. The second may not be.

6 Likes

Ian Gillan (hitched a lift in his Rolls Royce in 70s)
Dr Lonnie Smith (post Ronnie Scotts gig, about 2010)
Johnny Winter (post gig, maybe 15 years ago)
George Porter Jr (post gig, UK, 2014)
Dwayne Burnside (jammed with him, maybe 2008)
Adrian Legg (maybe not so famous, when he hosted folk club sessions, 70s)

3 Likes

Derrick May. Very nice guy.

6 Likes

808 State (Graham Massey, Andy Barker, Darren Partington), and Moby.

All at the same time.

Plaid (Ed Handley and Andy Turner). Though they did think I was a steward at a gig.

2 Likes

met mike paradinas, ceephax, n some others at my mates gigs.
I supported rob playford, coldcut, max tundra, n a bunch of other not quite so famous jungle n triphop heads back in the late 90s/ early 2000s.

Rob playford was an absolute prick :joy:

1 Like