Live Recording of Knobs in LIVE RECORDING mode

Ok so I’m still new to syntakt and digitone and digitakt world but learning and loving the trinity, but I don’t know the answer to this or find the answer yet.

Example: Take a sound and record it in LIVE RECORDING mode. Just press a trig / note and hold it and then tweak your tune knob (or any knob) while you’re holding the trig / note key down and it’s recording.

When it’s done it plays back in like steps instead of like how you tweaked it? Is this normal for the units to do that?

I wish it would record smoothly the way I tweaked the knob which would be much more beneficial in my opinion.

2 Likes

It would be great but the way they work doesn’t allow for parameter slides, using an lfo or two is your only option.

1 Like

Trig slides is a big request in the digi series.

6 Likes

I’m not sure trig slides or parameter slides is what I’m talking about?

I just want the device to record my knob movements exactly as I do it in live recording mode and not sound stepped / sequenced on play back.

But if that is what it is then I vote we need the slide stuff!

2 Likes

What is actually being recorded when you do that is the position of the knob at each step, and then those parameters are p locked on those steps. So all the stepping you are hearing is from those p locks. On other older machines you could make those P-locks change smoothly, but on the newer ones they are always stepped.

3 Likes

Yes it’s what you’re looking for. It does the same as glide for the pitch on Digitone: values are recorded per step the extrapolated between them.
Such feature is thee on the Analog series and Octatrack (and Monomachine) but not on Digi nor model series unfortunately.
You can fake it by programming some LFOs for each steps but it’s incredibly tedious.

We can only accept the way Digi work right now, and hope for a better future…

1 Like