Locked Root trig

Hello there,
I’m new to DN but had already a DT before, and one behavior is disturbing me.
When I place trigs on track, the trig note is automatically locked, and cannot be unlocked.
Meaning that if I change the root note for the whole track, none of the trigs are actually changing.

On DT in comparison, new added notes are not locked and just depend on the root note, so if I change it, it changes all the notes on the track.

Is it a normal behavior on DN? Is there a way to have it behave like DT?

I think this is normal for the Digitone…

The root note behaves like a default for adding new notes, but changing it after the fact doesn’t affect notes that have been added.

I wasn’t aware of the difference compared to DT, but this seems to make sense for a melody-focused instrument.

2 Likes

I was expecting that kind of answer, even though I much prefer DT’s way of behaving on that topic…
But to be fair, there is a lot of discrepancies between both devices in terms of UX / UI (that’s my daily job so it tilts me a bit :sweat_smile:)

2 Likes

Can’t disagree that this irks me at times too!
I understand and embrace it when inputting notes via the keyboard mode (forgetting the elektron terminology sorry) but when inputting steps…
This might represent a useful future setting that users can change to suit their preference.

The idea that the root note shown on the Trig page relates to the track is misguided, it only relates to the note destined to the next entered step - think of it only as a keyboard that you only ever see one note of - it’s not analogous to Osc pitch, it’s a midi domain entity

To make the behaviour where the Track will transpose, as though it was a bit like shifting an oscillator pitch is to use the Track transpose

When in Play Mode (not grid mode), press [Add Notes] this brings up a track level menu that has Transpose Track assigned to Knob H, Press [Yes] to confirm Transposition

This will do what you want

1 Like