N00b: Digitone Keys midi-less sync to Euro?

Hi – after 25+ years as a midi-less electric/electronic musician, I’ve gotten the wonderful Digitone Keys, and would like to sync it to my modular. At some point I will get a Hexinverter Mutant Brain (probably) but as I’m just learning digital synthesis with the DK, I’d like to concentrate on that right now rather than also learning midi simultaneously.

I’ve thought about using my Doepfer A119 Ext Input/Env Follower and sending a 4/4 kick out of one hard-panned track, but I’d rather not a) lose one DK track or b) have to have a 4/4 kick in every DK piece.

What about the control inputs on the DK? Is there any way to sync the DK to a clock on the modular with these? Not that I can tell.

Thanks for any other suggestions, 'nauts!

1 Like

Ha! Looking back I see that one of my previous posts here was during the turbulent two years when I was trying to figure out my bloody OT, and I asked about midi. Arrrgh, I hated that machine! Never figured it out, let alone got midi-ing with it. Sold it on and went back to my modular and pedals. Nine years later I give thanks to the engineers for the reasonably intuitive Digitone!

1 Like

You will need to use MIDI if you don’t want to sacrifice one of your Digitone tracks to generate a clock signal. MIDI clock sync is really about as basic as it gets, I don’t think it’ll be a huge mental barrier to overcome.

1 Like

DIN sync from the 2nd MIDI out port, with some kind of DIN sync converter?

MIDI OUT/SYNC A, MIDI data output. Can also be configured to send DIN sync to legacy instruments

1 Like

You do not have to sacrifice a midi track to do this. I use the OCD.CV device which can send various clock outputs that you can setup in the webapp that flashes the firmware. It also gives you 4 midi CCS to CV, and 12 gates to play with.

1 Like

Fucking hell man. 9 year hiatus. Welcome back!
Already said, but the OCD.CV is a good shout. Versatile, and cheap too.

3 Likes