Newbie Advice

So I decided that the Syntakt will be my first Elekton box I’m new to the Syn/groove box world but I have experience in music.
Could anyone give some tips on a starting guide or video for the Syntakt?

1 Like

Read the manual.
Seriously.
Then all you’ll see will enter your mind and complete the picture.

5 Likes

For someone who has never owned a Groovebox before ?

I always read the manual but it’s rarely the first step. In fact, before owning a Groovebox I came across mentions of octatrack and Digitakt and decided to find a manual. It didn’t take me long to go “you have to be joking” … a description of the parts item by item wasn’t getting me anywhere near understanding the whole.

@Joppy if I were you, I would leave reading the manual till later. Videos from loopop (above) are always a good start to understanding a device. I can also recall a video from @cuckoomusic about the digitone (or possibly Digitakt) that started with a very clear picture (literally) of the way memory is organised on the digi boxes (includes syntakt) … if I can find that I’ll link it.

I think after watching the loopop video you’ll be ready for the manual, to answer deeper questions.

EDIT: Having found the @cuckoomusic video I’m now hesitant about recommending it, particularly as I can’t easily tell where the description diverges from the syntakt. But however it does introduce the memory structure of the digi boxes , projects, banks, tracks etc, so if you find syntakt manual hard going on these topics, it may be worth viewing maybe 5 minutes of this as an introduction.

I’ll leave that link up unless someone advises me it’s too misleading.

2 Likes