Newbie - Cant get my Keys to play another MIDI synth

Hi,

New to Elektron gear but not music tech.

This should be simple as plugging a MIDI cable in the out of the keys into my drum machine. But when is life that easy right.

So I go through the setting under the MIDI Config and all seems well.

To prove its not the cable I plug it into another synth and drum machine responds instantly.

Anyone shed any light. Be appreciated.

Regards

1 Like

Hi, I’m also no expert but I can try to help. So it sounds like the drum machine is configured to listen on the auto channel, or the other synth is matched to the drum machine channel. Am I correct to assume the drum machine is on channel 10, and the auto channel on the DN keys is also set to 10 (or as appropriate that corresponds to the drum machine)?

2 Likes

Hiya mate, thanks

It was impossible to go through everything I have done as I have been on hours ha.

Yeah thats fine and a good point. But I set the drum machine to channel 1 and the Keys to channel 1. But thanks for checking. Its gonna be something so simple like that. I just know it.

1 Like

Ok so open the manual pdf if you have it available so we can look at the settings configuration menu and see what you’ve done.

So under setting - midi config - sync, which boxes are checked?

manual page 71

2 Likes

did you push the external midi button? in the midi ext menu you set, if and where you send notes to the outside.

2 Likes

(its the fourth button over the keyboard)

2 Likes

You also have to set the midi channel per track, got me the other day too. Seems like auto channel would have worked but it didn’t for me. Perhaps user error.

3 Likes

Thanks guys going to bed soon. But Ill get back to you all in Morning. Well UK morning depending where you are.

Is there a hard reset for these synths? (searching manual now) Luckily I haven’t programmed anything to loose. Failing that Ill look through the replies Im very grateful for in the morning.