Octatrack Recording Latency

Hey Guys,

I’m pretty new to the OT game so right now I’m having a fight with a Dark Souls like boss: Latency. My only real issue is a slight recording latency, when recording stuff from Ableton’s external instrument. Everything is being recorded a bit late when the OT is clocked via Ableton. I’ve already tried to mess with the latency settings in Live but that didn’t do the trick. Do you have any suggestions?

Only other thing I could think is that your audio interface is affecting it?

Try setting OT sync internal, transport external, and match OT tempo with your Ableton tempo.

1 Like

Are you sending midi from OT to Live and then send the audio into OT to sample it or are you sampling stuff that’s sequenced from something other than OT?

I sequence softsynths inside Live from my OT and sample into OT pretty much daily, no issues with that.
But as @darenager mentioned, OT is not synced to Live. I just match the tempo. One of the best things about OT is that you can easily capture loops that are perfectly in time.

If you are sequencing from within Live or from another hardware seq, I guess it would be best to put the midi notes into OT and don’t sync either OT to Live or Live to OT, but just match the tempo.

You can use live recording mode to let OT record incoming midi, but then you’d have to send start/stop from OT to Live or vice versa (or start both manually and correct the recorded midi by hand) and then switch it off for sampling.

Midi involving hardware sequencers and daws isn’t flaweless, depending on individual setups it can work well, though. Especially when you have an ERM Multiclock, Expert Sleepers USAMO or something similar.