Partner to AR; sequencer, A4 or Octa?

I hope this isn’t a boring topic that has been done to death. But I wanted an answer relevant to my needs. Hope you people can help. Thanks

I have the AR and I want to start using a sequencer along with it. I do wierd time sigs and most sequencing gear falls short here, so that is one of the things I like about the elektron range. But I have been sitting on the fence for ages about what I should get to partner my AR.

The purpose of the elektron machines for me is mainly to create interesting rhythmic backdrops for live improvisation on synth and electric piano, though also as music in its own right, of course. I’m a jazz musician by trade.

A4 pros - seems easier to get to know, built-in sounds, more direct? Easy to make basslines, pads? Looks like a lot of fun

A4 cons - I already have synths I like, Moog LP, Minibrute, maybe I don’t need another, maybe the basic sound of the A4 is not so warm? Maybe I would get as good a result using a general purpose sequencer like beatstep pro, engine or cirklon. No samples

Octa pros - gives me a much bigger sound palette, means I can sample the synths and pedals I already have (lots of moogerfoogers), seems very deep

Octa cons - scares me a bit, have no idea how long it would take to get the hang of it, have almost no previous experience with samples, discontinued by Elektron, will they suddenly make a new one?

I would appreciate any thoughts

Peace love and understanding :slight_smile:

A4 sequencer is a bit more advanced than the OT (conditional trigs) but it can not sequence external gear by MIDI, only by CV. A4 sequencer has only one track whereas OT provide you 8 tracks.

Sound-wise they are completely different.