Patterns and sample loading

Hello all…
Just got the octatrack and underway with some loops and sounds… Really enjoying for sure…
I have come up with a dilemma of sorts.
When you have a project open and you design a pattern using all of the tracks on A1 for example, can you then switch to A2 and have each of the machines triggering different samples than the one on A1?
My thinking is that you could have a full song on A1 and have an. Entirely different song on A2 and seemlessly switch between them as A Dj would for instance.
Any way to make that work?
Seems like the only way is using the PARTS function but that makes for deeper scrolling as far as I’m concerned.
Any help or answers would be greatly appreciated.
Maybe I’m just doing something wrong when I load the samples but they replace the samples across all of the previous patterns as we’ll…
Thanks!

well i’m still pretty new to the OT but i have used parts for this exact reason.

not sure what you mean about scrolling at all honestly, parts are really easy to get to.

just press [function] + [midi] and the parts thing comes up…then you choose which part you want using the arrows then enter (i think)

each pattern is inherently linked to a part…so once you change patterns it automatically changes to its respective part. basically once you set the part the first time you never have to think about it again.

There are 4 ways of using different samples on a new pattern
Using parts
Using slices
Using sample locks
Switching to another bank

Thanks all…
Possibly switching the BANKS would be the solution…
Are individual songs typically stored as a BANK?
I don’t think they would be stored as a PROJECT because loading another PROJECT stops all audio…
I know everyone has their own way of using the OT but wondering about the typical place a song resides.

You MUST use different Sampleslots !

I’ll explain a bit.