Recommend an FM synth & sequencer iOS app

Hi, I’m new to iOS world and seeking some advice –

I am looking for either an FM synth + sequencer, or separate FM synth and sequencer apps.

I want to record long sequences of notes in, and then easily automate the fm parameters afterward in multiple passes. I already have GarageBand but nothing else. And I’m not yet fully versed on that. Wondering if there are tried and true apps people like for this.

My favorite FM sounds are the ones I use in Plogue OPS7 with a little bit reduction. But I’m open to anything that sounds fairly rich in terms of digital FM.

I’m curious what others will recommend. For FM I got KQDixie and found it tough going (very true to DX7, but on the upside plays dx7 patches), but then really gelled with Nambu. It has a good arp and 2 16 step sequencers in its mod matrix but not a sequencer proper.

Drambo is a great elektron-style sequencer and it has built-in synth components or can host and map controls to other apps, including the 2 mentioned above.

1 Like

I have my eye on Nambu for FM (haven’t bought yet) and Drambo for sequencing (have bought, haven’t used yet). You might also look at the relatively new Buttersynth, which has a 4-op FM engine along with several other types, including extensive wavetable support.

2 Likes

Sugar-bytes Aparillo is really nice, and is a free download on iOS (the in-app unlock enables saving patches, midi, and auv3 to us it inside other apps).

1 Like

My favorite iOS synth is the ID700 — a port of the criminally underappreciated and impossible to find Buchla 700. But it’s obviously not “classic” FM in a whole lot of ways.