Rode M5 Matched Pair + Digitakt Compatibility

Hello!

I am new to the Elektron and recording world, so bare with me. I just got a Digitakt and I want to record myself playing violin. I want to get the Rode M5 Matched Pair but I wasn’t sure if I need an audio interface or not? It needs phantom power so I am guessing I do? What audio interface can I use for the matched pair? Because it’s two mics do I need something specific? And then can I plug the audio interface into the Digitakt?

Please recommend any cords I would need too. Really know nothing here. Thank you all

welcome to Elektronauts! :partying_face:

I own the same mics and have enjoyed using them for years recording various instruments, but primarily as overhead/room mics for acoustic drums. they’re a great value for the sound quality you get in return.

for recording them into a Digitakt, you will need to get a dual pre-amp to get the mic level signals up to the line level that the Digitakt is expecting. the pre-amp should also have phantom power, as you mentioned (most do). be aware, however, that the Digitakt works with mono samples only. I believe it will sum your stereo signal to mono automatically. or perhaps you can separate the two channels into two mono samples… I’m no DT expert… also: if you’re looking around and pre-amps are too pricey, you may be best served by simply buying a small mixer.

cables: your pre-amp and mic connection will just be XLR (male-female) cables. from there, you’ll just need standard 1/4" cables (TRS is best) to get into the Digitakt.

1 Like

Amazing! This is great information. What would you recommend for an affordable pre-amp or mixer?

actually, I was thinking of the Rode NT5’s. those are what I own. the M5 is basically a cheaper version of that; which I’m sure are still great mics! Rode make great stuff. but at the $150 price point the M5’s go for, it makes it trickier to find a mixer or dual mic pres you can justify spending the cash on…