Samples Paralysis

So you need a kick sample. None of the one I have works. I try to buy some, but they’re not exactly what I want. Plus I feel bad about using someone else sample for some reason. I’m a musician shouldn’t I create my own sample.

Put the purchased sample in my project. Doesn’t really fit, try to filter/effect/tweak it. Still kind of feel like it’s not at the right place.

Buy a shitload of cheap sample. Still nothing works and take so much time to figure out which is which… Finally find something half decent. All right, now to the snare.

Same crap happens again, but the snare has to match the kick. I don’t want to buy one of these sample, but can’t do better so go about shopping and buying. End up buying a whole kit of drum sound.

Now I have way too many sample to choose from, cannot figure out how to make them sound well together. Try to record my own sample…

Now I haven’t been trough that process in few months as I don’t buy shit anymore and I know that I end up wasting all my time. Ended up using a Model:Cycles, it’s synth based sound, for whatever reason that works with my brain, I CAN MAKE IT SOUND THE WAY I WANT. Even if the machines are quite limited when it comes to sound design…

What is the problem with my head? Why can’t I deal with samples?? To be clear I do field recording and use these as texture/bg ambiance and other fx sound (rain/raven/thunder) but can’t do the sample drum kit…

Anyone else in sample paralysis?? How do you get you? Or should I simply avoid it?

2 Likes

I hate to suggest buying something else but I’m really into AI sample selectors.

My favorite lately is XO.

You tell it where all your sampler libraries are and it makes a nebula of sound types from all of your libraries. You can select all of your kicks and when you find something close you can quickly find similar ones.

It also has a decent little sequencer. Once you get the samples selected you can quickly drag them into the sampler/daw of your choice.