Sequencing Octatrack: Polyphony?

Hello,

I want to buy an Octatrack soon, it will be my first Elektron machine. I want to use the Octatrack to sample monophonic notes from my synths.

I will control the Octatrack with an external sequencer, to sequence each track. I know that the Octatrack can play 8 different samples at the same time (each one represent a track), but is it possible to play chords ? I mean playing the same sample with different pitches (polyphony) to create pads…

I like so much the EMU e6400 for that, It’s my favorite sampler, I hope the Octatrack can do the same.

Thanks a lot!

Hi,

I’m new with the Octatrack but as far as i know what you want it’s not possible. Octatrack can play eight monophonic tracks so no chord play allowed although you can sequence midi chords (up to four notes).

Hope this helps

1 Like

Yes, you can play the same sample, re pitched over several tracks to effectively create a chord. I find that It’s a little hit and miss due to how re-pitching is managed. Some times works fine, other times it doesn’t quite sound right. I’m writing this from the view point of using the OTs sequencer. Thinking about it , you probably can’t do this if sequencing externally or if trying to play via a keyboard.

You could, of course, sample the various mores from your synth and build your chords using raw samples rather than pitching but it’d take a while. To play a chord on the OT would require p-locking in any case.

The OT won’t emulate what the Emu is doing - ie a single sample over full note range allowing x not polyphony and rep itched playback but it does offer potential alternatives. They just take a little more work.

1 Like

Thanks, I understand!

By the way, I want to check if you can sequence the sample 1 via the midi channel 01, sequence the sample 2 via the channel midi 02… up to sequence the sample 8 with the midi channel 08. Is it possible ?