Sequencing workflow questions

Hey y’all - brand new here and I am also new to the world of electronic music making.

I picked up my first synthesizer at the beginning of quarantine and have been slowly learning since. My current setup is the Digitakt into a Keystep into a Peak into a Model D.

I find myself using the sequencer on the key step because of how easy it is to punch in notes on the keyboard, but I feel it is fairly limited when I want to make something with a little more structure or interest. I know that the Digitakt has a pretty powerful sequencer, and would love to get into using it more, but I hate punching in individual notes on the trig page. I was just wondering what some of your workflows for sequencing with the Digi are? Am I able to use the key step to punch in notes for my sequences in Step recording mode? Are there any tricks here that could make my life easier? What workflows have you guys been enjoying? Thanks so much!

Welcome to making electronic music! You already have a super powerful setup…so much you can do with those three instruments.

I think you’ll find it so much easier to unlock the power of the DT’s sequencer by switching up your midi chain a little bit. Try running your Keystep MIDI out -> DT MIDI in -> DT MIDI out -> Peak MIDI in -> Peak MIDI thru -> Model D MIDI in.

Basically by doing this, you can use your Keystep to assign notes to each DT sequencer track (both for its 8 sample tracks, as well as its 8 MIDI tracks). Once you learn about how to set up and use the DT’s MIDI autochannel (check out the manual!) you essentially can leave the Keystep assigned to one MIDI channel, and simply by changing the tracks on the DT, whatever notes you play from the Keystep will affect whatever the currently selected track.