Stuck in a rut, need recommendations to break out of it

Lately I’ve been feeling very frustrated with my creations and I’m finding it more and more difficult to finish anything, because it always feels like a repetition (or a close variation, at best) of what I’ve already done.

A bit of context first: I’ve been making music on my own for about 5 years now, after playing in bands for over 20 years. I come from a rock background and I only started to get into electronic music back in 2017, so at first everything was completely new to me in this genre and it was really easy to come up with fresh and exciting ideas. I’ve tried all sorts of different gear during this period and a handful of them were really ground breaking in the sense that they opened up whole new worlds: the Organelle (my 1st “electronic” instrument), the Digitone and more recently the Deluge.

The problem that I’ve been feeling lately is that no matter what gear I’m using, the input is always coming from me so I always end up using the same ideas and techniques! That’s why I’m looking for something that could help me to come up with different unexpected results, specifically generative sequencers and such.

The Organelle had some pretty cool generative patches, but the problem was you could only use one at time, so it wasn’t ideal for building full tracks with it. The Digitone and Deluge are both great standalone grooveboxes, but mostly that act as blank canvas for whatever you want to put there, not so much for coming up with different ideas.

So, are there any “happy accident” machines that you would recommend? or, do you think that based on what I’ve just described my problem cannot be resolved with more gear and I need to try a different approach?

Important note: hardware recommendations only, I work with computers all day so the last thing I want is to be in front of one in my free time!

2 Likes

Here’s some ‘hardware’ in the form of a book (available online too):