Totally new to Elektron Devices – where to hang out, what to read & watch?

Hi guys,

I just bought my very first Elektron device, Syntakt, a couple of weeks ago and got another G.A.S. outburst yesterday when all of a sudden a Digitakt appeared out of nowhere on my desk. :joy: :see_no_evil:

I’m watching YT videos (Ricky Tinez, Loopop, Cuckoo, Captain Pikant, EZBOT and more) and studying the Elektron manuals … but it hasn’t made “click” in my head, yet, especially with these two topics:

1. Pages / Scale
  2. Memory layout (+Drive/Pool/…), espcially with the Digitakt

I’m sure it will make click one day but I though maybe someone has made some clever diagrams/illustrations (expected some in the manual :man_shrugging:) for both topics.

Anyway, do you guys have any recommendations for total noobs in the Elektron world in 2023, like what to read, study, watch, hear, listen to? Videos, blogs, podcasts, articles, sketchnotes, …

Thanks so much and all the best from Bonn, Germany!
Stefan.

9 Likes

Hey Stefan, welcome aboard. Glad you’re here. Ezbot on YouTube has some good videos detailing several of the machines (edit, nevermind see you’ve already checked him out). I will add that a lot of tutorials tend to go a little too quickly, especially for people new to the machines, but do go back and check out their videos when you get a little bit more comfortable with the layout and nomenclature. Also another member on here created fantastic “notebooks” for most of the machines. I’ll go grab the link to those and edit them. Good to have you here.
Here is that link to the notebooks. Definitely worth the price of admission.

6 Likes

…warm welcome…u’ve found the obvious and right place here…

if u combine the device name and certain keywords like +drive or pool and give that an internal forum search, u’ll always find the right answers…