Transport controls over MIDI

I’ve just got a M-Vave Chocolate bluetooth controller pedal & MidiPort that I wanted to use to simply start and stop the current pattern.

The app allows me to set the footswitches to Start / Stop Current sequence but the model cycles doesn’t respond.

I’ve got MIDI ports = M+U inp from
In channels unaltered

Am I missing something obvious? I’ve seen in some other threads that transport doesn’t work without clock? I’m new to this so please bear with!

hi

Channels isn’t a factor here, transport controls are part of ‘system’ realtime messages

i know the Model series group the transport rx/tx (receive/transmit)

so one toggle will enable/disable clock send and transport send rather than setting those individually - make sure this is enabled to accept incoming control of transport

Now if you send a standard start/stop message i would not expect that the MC would look for clock arriving too, it should react to the message and use its own clock settings … can’t say i have tried, but that would be disappointing

sounds like you have the wrong setting there or you have not configured your MC port to be a type A (default) midi dongle (assuming you are using the one that Elektron ship with teh MC)

I’m fairly sure that the M:C adapts itself to either polarity of midi input (which is what we’re concerned with here). It’s midi output that has to be explicitly configured in settings.

1 Like

it does indeed

indeed it is, so those discussions were accurate

If you enable settings/sync/ CLK IN to on it will cue playback but won’t proceed without clock being fed !