Trying to understand slots (global midi settings getting reset)

I’m still fairly new to my MDUW+ and one thing I’ve noticed is that my ‘global’ settings have gotten reset a couple of times. I’ve only been using Slot 1 and just trying to set it up for my basic setups so far, which are:

No base channel (’–’)
Send out clock and control messages

It’s been set up this way for a few days as I’ve started integrating the MD into a potential live setup where it’s basically the master clock.

Tonight I had the MD hooked up to the TM-1 and was loading in a couple of the free sample packs from Elektron’s site via C6 and saw that the ‘MIDI IN’ light on the TM-1 was playing whenever I played a sound. I looked at my globals and base channel was back to 1-4, and the external sync settings had been reset to ‘not send’.

I’m not seeing anything in the manual about how/when this might get saved or restored. Is it possible that I may have been clumsy with C6 and caused it to reset? Should I just stay off of Global Slot 1 for doing any custom settings? Or should I have a global slot set up a certain way just for doing C6 SysEx stuff via TM-1?

I must admit that I’m not really understanding slots and their relationship to things like snapshots and banks and I’m starting to get a little trigger shy as I’ve already accidentally lost work by loading something without saving (happened tonight when I followed the ‘detailed’ installation settings for one of these sample packs which bypassed the quick-snapshot menu, so I lost all my custom work of the past few days. Whoops! Lesson learned).

You should aim to assign different global slots for different configurations of your gear so that you can recall them when you need them. You do not need a specific global slot for SysEx dumps.