USB-C cable or USB-A-hub for Overbridge?

Hello.

I have recently upgraded my Mac and I’m wondering what would be the best way to connect the Digitone for hassle free stable Overbridge functions in Logic Pro X.

I’m not too familiar yet with Overbridge, since I am quite new to the Digitone.

I have these ports on my computer:
4x USB-C 3,1 gen 2 / Thunderbolt 3
2x USB-A 3 (these are occupied with Maschine MK3 and a powered USB 3.0 hub. There is another powered USB 2.0 hub daisy chained to it. So I do not have a free USB-A port on the back of the Mac Mini)

These are the options:
1/ Digitone -> USB 3.0 hub
2/ Digitone -> USB-A to USB-C cable -> Thunderbolt port
3/ Digitone -> USB-A cable -> USB-C adapter -> Thunderbolt port

Things used to be easy with Firewire and USB-A. There are so many different ports now coming every day, it is getting ridiculuous.

Also, will the Digitone work well in an Aggregate Device in OSX? I am using Catalina with Logic Pro X 10.6.1 (latest)

Is there any actual difference in latency between USB hub and cable straight in? If there is, it has to be miniscule.

If you want to use a hub, fetch one with MTT capabilities, which can handle audio over USB better. I use the Elektron Overhub. Costs more than the cheap stuff, but after burning one of my BT headsets charging it with a cheap hub , I’d never connect my precious devices to something cheap again.
Otherwise, if you only want to connect the Digitone you could use the adapter or cable option and connect it directly to the Mac. Personally - as said - I’d rather not connect the machine and the DT to a USB hub of doubted origin.

It can happen, depends on what is connected to the hub. An external disk and a Audio USB interface could cause issues. At least you should look for MTT capabilities (like the Overhub)

Ah forgot. The DT works like a charme with Logic. Be aware that currently Big Sur is not supported (@Elektron: when will Overbridge be ready for that???)