What is the +Drive

Hello, I’m new to Elektron gear and Digitakt. Maybe a dumb question but what is the +Drive? How I use it on the Digitakt?

Thanks

The +Drive is the storage area where all the projects, sounds, and samples are stored.

I strongly encourage you to go to Elektron’s website, where they provide a full user manual that explains all aspects of the Digitakt:

4 Likes

+Drive is the main storage on the device. You load sounds from this to the project area per project.

2 Likes

+Drive is Flash Storage, capacity is 1GB.

The +Drive is a non-volatile storage. It keeps up to 128 projects stored internally, and it also holds all saved sounds. The +Drive also contains the sample bank. All projects have access to these samples.

:slight_smile: Cool isn’t it ?

6 Likes

and Drive is a big word for a lousy capacity…
but that is how marketing works :laughing:

yes yes, I know, that it is sufficient for most uses and in the future there might be a way to back that capacity up…
I belive that when I hold the software in my greedy hands… And I hope that it will be quick…

Just pulled my Digitakt out again after a while, and I am trying to relearn it properly, since basically everything I did before was a half baked workaround.

I would like to know exactly what the +Drive is. Like, let’s pretend we’re using a computer.

Obviously, the +Drive is not the root directory. I created a new project, and when I navigated to the +Drive, both it and the Sound Pool claim to both be empty.

However, if I load an old project from a few years ago, there are, in fact, plenty of sounds that I imported. When I look at the +Drive and the Sound Pool while in the old project which has sounds that I have loaded, they claim to both be empty! I mean, I press the buttons and I hear the cr78 I sampled? If this sample is not in the +Drive, where is it?